Chapel Hill Philharmonia

Chapel Hill Philharmonia Presents “New World Inspirations”

CHAPEL HILL, NC — Posted November 17, 2019

On Sunday, December 15, the Chapel Hill Philharmonia will perform music linked to the New World. Since 1919 is the Centennial of Women’s Suffrage, the orchestra leads off with the “Concert Overture #1,” honoring composer Florence Price. She was one of the first African-American women composers and her fine work merits greater recognition.

Conductor Evan Feldman and orchestra will then play Strauss’s beloved “Blue Danube.” The exuberant “Danzon No. 2” by Mexican composer Marquez follows. This brilliant piece is performed worldwide. Capping the program is Dvorak’s Symphony #9, “From the New World,” inspired by his visit to America in the 1890s. The haunting melody “Going Home” is an audience favorite.

The concert is at 7:30pm in Moeser Auditorium in Hill Hall on the UNC-CH campus. Admission is free.

More Information on the Concert

© 2020 Chapel Hill Philharmonia  |  Hosted by iBiblio